Birdland Records, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia - Welcome to our Online Store. Jazz music cds online, Blues and soul music cds, SACD and SHM SACD, Vinyl Lps and DVD. Birdland Records

Dhafer Youssef - Abu Nawas Rhapsody

Acclaimed for his fusion of world music with jazz, vocalist and oud player Dhafer Youssef now focuses more on the acoustic side of jazz with an exciting new quartet that includes pianist Tigran Hamasyan, bassist Chris Jennings and drummer Mark Guiliana.

This new recording contrasts the sense of calm and serenity created by Dhafer's mesmeric voice and oud playing with Guiliana's trademark combination of energetic rhythmic multiple layers. The very special mix of musical elements and creative talent produces a new and original soundscape.

Born in Tunisia, Youssef has been living in Europe since the 1990s working with an eclectic mix of musicians including Nguyên Lé, Markus Stockhausen, Renaud Garcia-Fons, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Nils-Paetter Molvaer and Eivind Aarset.

His recent recordings, 'Divine Shadows' (2006), with musicians from the Norwegian nu-jazz scene and 'Glow', a collaboration with Wolfgang Muthspiel, have been acclaimed by the critics.


Dhafer Youssef (vocals, oud), Tigran Hamasyan (piano), Chris Jennings (bass), Mark Guiliana (drums)


1. Sacré "The Wine Ode Suite"
2. Les Ondes Orientales
3. Khamsa "The Khamriyyat Of Abu Nawas"
4. Interl'oud
5. Odd Elegy
6. Ya Hobb "In The Name Of Love"
7. Shaouk
8. Shatha
9. Mudamatan "The Wine Ode Suite"
10. Sura
11. Profane "The Wine Ode Suite"


Dhafer Youssef -  Abu Nawas Rhapsody 


Please enter this security code in the text box below - WP427


We've had to add this extra step because we've been receiving thousands of automated bogus orders every day lately, this has been seriously effecting the speed of our website.

Thanks for your cooperation!

View all titles from Jazzland


People who bought this also bought