Birdland Records, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia - Welcome to our Online Store. Jazz music cds online, Blues and soul music cds, SACD and SHM SACD, Vinyl Lps and DVD. Birdland Records

Forma Antiqva - Concerto Zapico

from the w+w website


At the beginning of the 1600s, La Cecchina, or Francesca Caccini, a strong-willed and enterprising woman, began her musical career under the family banner Concerto Caccini, together with her father, stepmother, sister and brother. Inspired by this simple musical endeavor, the three Zapico brothers, Aarón, Pablo and Daniel, developped their own program Concerto Zapico, in the desire to explore and widen their own musical possibilities. The result is Forma Antiqva in its simplest form, a group of which they are the instrumental core and which accompanies them around the world since its creation in 1998. In this project, the original idea which has always been the basis of Forma Antiqva, the basso continuo, is the protagonist.

The works included in this CD belong to the Iberian-Italian repertoire for harpsichord, guitar and theorbo - the brothers’ instruments - from the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries. A repertoire which is close and familiar to them. They have chosen works originally written for soloists, but transcribed and arranged them so as to be able to play them together also in duo or trio; after all, they are brothers, and this is natural. Besides, this has been a custom as frequent as practical throughout musical history. Each Zapico brother has thus contributed his personality to a third of the CD; with his idea of the group. Each selected his soloist works, which his brothers subsequently joined into through highly fruitful and creative collaboration. These works have matured over long periods, flowing through many concerts and places.

The programme begins with a fandango attributed to Domenico Scarlatti, probably the most popular and well-known dance at that time, which was often described, not without reason, as immoral and shocking. José de Nebra and Santiago de Murcia, also represented with two fandangos, belong to the most important Spanish composers of the 17th and 18th century. Both dances were written for a solo instrument: for the harpsichord in de Nebra’s case and for the guitar in de Murcia’s. The brothers Zapico interpret de Nebra with an improvised, almost ostinato-like accompaniment, resembling the bass of the fandango.
Technical finesse is required for the Preludio Grabe and the Giga by Corelli, arranged by Santiago de Murcia for the guitar.
Ximénez’s Obra de Lleno de Primer Tono, originally an organ piece, contrasts with the dance-like character of Concerto Zapico with its light and capricious variations in rhythm and melody.
The great lute virtuoso Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger is included in this CD with several compositions from his fourth Libro d’intavolatura di chitarrone, among them a striking toccata. After publishing the first Libro in 1604 his way led him to Rome where he entered into papal services, and where he was to be regarded already during his lifetime as an outstanding instrumentalist and composer.
Another preludio, taken from Roncalli’s Capricci armonici sopra la chitarra spagnola, is played with delicate elegance, evoking the aura and melancholy of French music.
Not only in the noble salons, also in the streets and on the squares the chaconnies or „caponas“ were in vogue. Even though there is no definitive evidence, Spain seems to be the country of origin of the chaconny. Like the fandango it was considered an untamed and indecent dance. It is not surprising that this reputation has stuck to it until today. The improvisation in the two Kapsberger pieces is performed by the theorbo and wonderfully complemented by the guitar.
Colascione, a little divertimento by Kapsperger, reminds with its title of an almost forgotten instrument and its playing technique.
The Partite diversi di follia are a little suite of variations by Bernardo Pasquini.
And what’s so “Gallego” (Galician) about de Murcias Folías Gallegas? Perhaps the fact that, listening to them with closed eyes, one can almost, almost hear the sea... 


Musicians   Compositions
Aarón Zapico [harpsichord, organ]
Daniel Zapico [theorbo]
Pablo Zapico [baroque guitar]
  1. Fandango [Domenico Scarlatti ?]
2. Preludio [Conte Ludovico Roncalli]
3. Passacaglia [Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger]
4. Bayle del Gran Duque [Anonymous]
5. Fandango [Santiago de Murcia]
6. Toccata XI [Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger]
7. Capona & Ciaccona [Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger]
8. Obra de Lleno de Primer Tono sin paso [Jusepe Ximénez]
9. Preludio Grabe [Santiago de Murcia after Arcangelo Corelli]
10. Giga [Santiago de Murcia after Arcangelo Corelli]
11. Partite diversi di follia [Bernardo Pasquini]
12. Folías Gallegas [Santiago de Murcia]
13. Fandango de España [José de Nebra ?]
14. Colascione [Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger]
15. Recercada I [Diego Ortiz] & Lo Ballo dell'Intorcia [Antonio Valente]

total time: 54:50


Forma Antiqva - Concerto Zapico 


Please enter this security code in the text box below - WP427


We've had to add this extra step because we've been receiving thousands of automated bogus orders every day lately, this has been seriously effecting the speed of our website.

Thanks for your cooperation!

View all titles from Winter&Winter