Birdland Records, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia - Welcome to our Online Store. Jazz music cds online, Blues and soul music cds, SACD and SHM SACD, Vinyl Lps and DVD. Birdland Records

The Fantastic Terrific Munkle - Music to dance to

If the little potato-people cartoon figures on the cover of this CD came to life, this is the music they would play: quirky, goofy, madcap and sometimes slightly sad.

With this second release the Fantastic Terrific Munkle burst right through a barrier that has defied most people for centuries: how to make instrumental music that is witty and amusing without just being silly.

Not that there's anything wrong with silliness, per se, but such music to tends be a one-listen- only joke. Julian Curwin (guitars, banjo) and Sam Golding (tuba,trumpet, flute) have written pieces that will withstand repeated scrutiny, because the humour is so deft and multi-faceted.

It's there in the melodies, the textures, the call-and-response non-sequiturs and the very precision with which the maddest episodes of this jazz/klezmer/cowboy music amalgam are rendered.

John Shand 



1. The Joy Of The Traffic king
2. The 3 Numbs
3. Honkey Donkey
4. The Girl Who Can't Dance Says The Band Can't Play
5. Incidental Gaucho
6. Eight-Footed Stomp Monster
7. Clippity
8. Chuggabug
9. Harold
10. Ohm Pom Pom
11. Turkish Bath
12. The Absent-Minded Saint
13. So Long (The Shortest Staw)
14. Bossa Nostra    
Martin Kay - clarinet, bass clarinet
Julian Curwin - guitar, banjo
Sam Golding - tuba, trumpet, flute
Danny Heifetz - drums, percussion

The Fantastic Terrific Munkle - Music to dance to 


Please enter this security code in the text box below - WP427


We've had to add this extra step because we've been receiving thousands of automated bogus orders every day lately, this has been seriously effecting the speed of our website.

Thanks for your cooperation!

View all titles from Australian