Birdland Records, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia - Welcome to our Online Store. Jazz music cds online, Blues and soul music cds, SACD and SHM SACD, Vinyl Lps and DVD. Birdland Records

Frank Sinatra - In The Wee Small Hours

1 In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
2 Mood Indigo
3 Glad To Be Unhappy
4 I Get Along Without You Very Well
5 Deep In A Dream
6 I See Your Face Before Me
7 Can't We Be Friends?
8 When Your Lover Has Gone
9 What Is This Thing Called Love?
10 Last Night When We Were Young - (bonus track)
11 I'll Be Around
12 Ill Wind
13 It Never Entered My Mind
14 Dancing On The Ceiling
15 I'll Never Be The Same
16 This Love Of Mine
Originally issued on CD without the song "Last Night When We Were Young."
Personnel includes: Frank Sinatra (vocals); Nelson Riddle (arranger).
Includes liner notes by Pete Welding.
Digitally remastered by Larry Walsh (Capitol Recording Studios).
Recorded in 1955, this superbly arranged and sung set of slow ballads can lay claim to being the world's first "concept album." Of course, in classical music, song cycles had been around since Schubert, but a whole set of pop tunes arranged around a central theme or mood was something new in popular music. With the advent of the LP in 1953, commercial pop music was beginning to take itself seriously. As to be expected, Frank Sinatra did it first and best.
Sinatra is in utter command of this material--vocally relaxed yet focused on conveying what these hand-picked "torch" songs still have to say to the modern listener. Throughout he projects his signature manly vulnerability without seeming maudlin or even sentimental. The singer is helped immeasurably in this task by Nelson Riddle's deftly scored chamber arrangements which include brilliant use of celeste and guitar on several tracks (cf. Alec Wilder's "I'll Be Around", Kay Swift's "Can't We Be Friends".) A must for any listener even remotely interested in the Great American Songbook.
Frank Sinatra - In The Wee Small Hours 


Please enter this security code in the text box below - WP427


We've had to add this extra step because we've been receiving thousands of automated bogus orders every day lately, this has been seriously effecting the speed of our website.

Thanks for your cooperation!

View all titles from Capitol