Nancy Sinatra - Start Walkin' 1965-1976

with 64 page hardcover booklet

Coming Soon

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

As the eldest daughter of Frank Sinatra, Nancy was born into the spotlight. At 19, she made her professional debut in front of millions of Americans, appearing alongside her father and Elvis Presley on the television special Welcome Home Elvis. Not long after, she released a series of singles. But those demure recordings didn't reflect the real Nancy Sinatra - that Nancy would be re-introduced to the world just a few years later, thanks to an unlikely musical partnership with songwriter and producer Lee Hazlewood.

Nancy's performance of Lee's song "These Boots Are Made for Walkin'" was a huge hit in 1966 and became her signature tune. The pair began a three year run of successful albums, duets and singles including "Sugar Town," "Some Velvet Morning," "Summer Wine," "Sand," "Jackson," and the title track to the 1967 James Bond film "You Only Live Twice." Start Walkin' explores Nancy's recordings with Lee, her inspired collaborations with songwriter Mac Davis ("Hello L.A., Bye Bye Birmingham"), producer Lenny Waronker ("Hook and Ladder") and the "should've been hit" song with arranger/producer Billy Strange ("How Are Things In California.") Over the years, she has been cited as an influence by countless artists, including Sonic Youth, Morrissey, Calexico, U2, and Lana Del Rey. Her haunting song "Bang, Bang" gained a new legion of fans when it appeared in the opening credits of Quentin Tarantino's 2003 film, Kill Bill Volume 1. Most recently, Sinatra's contributions to the industry were further recognized by her peers, when "Boots" was inducted into the GRAMMY ® Hall of Fame. The honor, bestowed in January of 2020, recognizes "musical recordings of lasting qualitative or historical significance."

    1 Bang Bang
    2 These Boots Are Made for Walkin'
    3 Sugar Town
    4 So Long Babe
    5 How Does That Grab You, Darlin'?
    6 Friday's Child
    7 You Only Live Twice
    8 Summer Wine
    9 Some Velvet Morning
    10 Lightning's Girl
    11 Sand
    12 Lady Bird
    13 Jackson
    14 Happy
    15 How Are Things in California
    16 Hook and Ladder
    17 Hello L.A., Bye Bye Birmingham
    18 Paris Summer
    19 Arkansas Coal
    20 Down from Dover
    21 Kind of a Woman
    22 Machine Gun Kelly
    23 (L'ÉTÉ Indien) Indian Summer


SKU 826853019521
Barcode # 826853019521
Brand Light in the Attic Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category