Arnett Cobb - Party Time / More Party Time / Movin' Right Along / 2CD set

Coming Soon

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

Of all the tenor saxophonists who have come roaring out of Lionel Hamptons band, Texas tenor Arnett Cobb always seemed the most likely to allow his essentially rich and swinging style to stand on its own merits. He demonstrated it in these relaxed, unpretentious sessions amid congenial, inventive company, including some of the most accomplished and soulful pianists around, with Ray Bryant, Tommy Flanagan, and Bobby Timmons providing some lean and lithely moving solos on these implacably swinging dates.

The setting allowed one of the most assertive of the roistering tenorists to work his way into piece after piece, developing gracefully structured lines in his rough, tweedy tone. Forceful, virile and uncomplicated, an assertive reflection of its time and place, the music retains the capacity to reach directly into the emotions, unhindered by the passage of time.


CD 1
01. When My Dreamboat Comes Home (Friend-Franklin) 5:46
02. Lonesome Road (Shilkret-Austin) 3:55
03. Blues in the Closet (Oscar Pettiford) 4:18
04. Party Time (Arnett Cobb) 5:52
05. Flying Home (Hampton-Goodman) 5:14
06. Slow Poke (Arnett Cobb) 6:51
07. Cocktails for Two (Johnston-Coslow) 5:13
08. Lover Come Back to Me (Romberg-Hammerstein II) 8:56
09. Blue Lou (Sampson-Mills) 3:40
10. Swanee River (Stephen Foster) 5:49
11. Blue Me (Arnett Cobb) 7:35

Total time: 63:51 min.

CD 2
01. Sometimes I'm Happy (Youmans-Robin-Grey) 5:13
02. Fast Ride (Arnett Cobb) 4:11
03. The Nitty Gritty (Arnett Cobb) 3:52
04. All I Do is Dream of You (Brown-Freed) 4:00
05. Ghost of A Chance (Victor Young) 5:21
06. Exactly Like You (McHugh-Fields) 6:28
07. Walkin (Richard Carpenter) 5:27
08. Softly, As in A Morning Sunrise (Romberg-Hammerstein II) 4:06
09. The Shy One (Cobb-Thompson) 4:43
10. Down By the Riverside (Traditional) 5:22

Total time: 46:03 min.

CD 1, tracks #1-7 from the album "Party Time" (Prestige PRLP7165)
CD 1, tracks #8-11 & CD 2 tracks #1 & 10 from "More Party Time"
(Prestige PRLP7175)
CD 2, tracks #2-9 from the album "Movin' Right Along" (Prestige PRLP7216)


SKU 8427328607261
Barcode # 8427328607261
Brand Fresh Sound Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category