Arthur Blythe - Lenox Avenue Breakdown / In the Tradition / Illusions / Blythe Spirit

2CD set

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

Jazz alto saxophonist Blythe’s first four albums for Columbia, dating from 1978, 1979, 1980 and 1981

In The Tradition:

  1. Jitterbug Waltz
  2. In A Sentimental Mood
  3. Break Tune
  4. Caravan
  5. Hip Dripper
  6. Naima

Lenox Avenue Breakdown:

  1. Down San Diego Way
  2. Lenox Avenue Breakdown
  3. Slidin’ Through
  4. Odessa


  1. Bush Baby
  2. Miss Nancy
  3. Illusions
  4. My Son Ra
  5. Carespin’ With Mamie
  6. As Of Yet

Blythe Spirit:

  1. Contemplation
  2. Faceless Woman
  3. Reverence
  4. Strike Up The Band
  5. Misty
  6. Spirits In The Field
  7. Just A Closer Walk With Thee


Given the urban title of alto saxophonist Arthur Blythe's debut Columbia album, it's quite a shock when he and his red-hot band of collaborators that include James Blood Ulmer on guitar, Bob Stewart on tuba, flutist James Newton, bassist Cecil McBee, and Jack DeJohnette open with the decidedly funky Latin breaks on "Down San Diego Way." It's not a vamp and it's not a misleading intro, the first of four tracks showcases not only the deep versatility of the rhythm section, but Blythe's own gift as both a composer and as a soloist. He states the melody, handing off the harmonics to Ulmer and Newton and then flies high into the face of its chosen changes, allowing the beat to change under him several times before bringing back a theme and letting Ulmer solo.

Blythe's grounding in the blues and in modal composition guide him on the title track; he and Newton move through intervallic shifts of chromatic intensity and spatial columnar structures, while Ulmer builds a middle bridge to both ground and fly from. But Blythe is not content here to showcase the extremes. On both "Slidin' Through," his exercise in harmolodic composition, and "Odessa," Blythe provides ample proof of his wisdom as a bandleader, encouraging solo and rhythmic interplay between different groups of musicians such as McBee and Blythe on the former and between himself, Newton and Ulmer on the latter as the rhythm section winds it out in both cases, stretching the narrow envelope into something far more textured and thematically unified -- note the Ornette-meets-noir ambience of "Odessa." This group lays like a band that had been together for years, not the weeklong period it took them to rehearse and create one of Blythe's masterpieces. Over 20 years later, Lenox Avenue Breakdown still sounds new and different and ranks among the three finest albums in his catalog.

AllMusic Review by Thom Jurek


SKU 5017261212429
Barcode # 5017261212429
Brand Beat Goes On Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category