Gard Nilssen's Supersonic Orchestra - Family

2023 CD release

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $12.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

Norwegian drummer/composer Gard Nilssen debuts on We Jazz Records with his major new album “Family” with the 17-piece Supersonic Orchestra. A veritable who’s who of Scandinavian jazz (and beyond), the Supersonic Orchestra is one of the most exciting large groups in the current international jazz circuit. Captured at Mondriaan Jazz Festival in Den Haag, Netherlands, “Family” presents the ensemble in top form across the 8 tracks, all of which are original compositions by Gard Nilssen and André Roligheten.

Supersonic Orchestra consists of 7 saxophones, 2 trombones, 2 trumpets, 3 double basses and 3 drum sets. Do the quick math and you’ll guess that the band spits fire when they need to, but that’s not nearly the whole story here. There’s a natural ebb and flow to the music, and the tunes are catchy to the bone. This is not free blowing just for the sake of it, but music that is borne out the love for the totality of the ensemble sound here, and even more so of the necessity to write and arrange music for this “family”.

Goran Kajfes, Signe Emmeluth, Maciej Obara, Mette Rasmussen, Petter Eldh, Ingebrigt Håker Flaten and Hans Hulbækmo are just a few of the names that feature here with the bandleader Nilssen and his in house arranger Roligheten. As you hear here, on stage Supersonic Orchestra is a festival of a band unto itself. Whether an all out dragon’s roar or a quiet whisper of a solo bass, this is a big band bear hug on all 17 cylinders.

André Roligheten / tenor sax, bass saxophone, bass clarinet, percussion
Eirik Hegdal / sopranino sax, C-melody sax, Bb clarinet, percussion
Per ”Texas” Johansson / tenor sax, contrabass clarinet, Bb clarinet, percussion
Kjetil Møster / tenor sax, baritone saxophone, Bb clarinet, percussion
Mette Rasmussen / alto sax, percussion
Maciej Obara / alto sax, percussion
Signe Emmeluth / alto sax, percussion
Thomas Johansson / trumpet, percussion
Goran Kajfes / trumpet, percussion
Erik Johannessen / trombone, percussion
Guro Kvåle / trombone, percussion
Petter Eldh / double bass, percussion
Ole Morten Vågan / double bass, percussion
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten / double bass, percussion
Håkon Mjåset Johansen / drums, percussion
Hans Hulbækmo / drums, percussion
Gard Nilssen / drums, percussion


SKU 4062548070187
Barcode # 4062548070187
Brand We Jazz Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category