Hideo Shiraki - Plays Horace Silver

Coming Soon

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2019 Japanese reissue

Groovy Japanese jazz from 1962

The music of Horace Silver presented here by drummer Hideo Shiraki with almost the same approach to soul jazz you'd find on Silver's best Blue Note sides of the late 50s

Shiraki's always had a bit of a Jazz Messengers approach in his music recreating some of the grooves made famous by Horace at Blue Note, but also bringing a bit of his own flavor to the tunes as well.

Horace usually had a quintet - Hideo's group is a sextet with Hidehiko "Sleepy" Matsumoto on tenor and flute, Akira Fukuhara on trombone, and Hisaya Omata on trumpet giving the famliar tunes a bit of a twist. Great stuff.

1 Senor Blues

2 Sister Sadie

3 Doing The Thing

4 Blowing The Blues Away

5 Preacher

6 Swinging Samba

7 Filthy Mcnasty

Arranged By – Hidehiko Matsumoto

Bass – Hachiro Kurita

Composed By – Horace Silver

Drums – Hideo Shiraki

Piano – Joe Sera* (Yuzuru Sera)

Tenor Saxophone, Flute – Hidehiko Matsumoto

Trumpet – Hisaya Omata

Valve Trombone – Akira Fukuhara


SKU 4988003533816
Barcode # 4988003533816
Brand King Records Japan

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category