Ilmiliekki Quartet - Land of Real Men

Coming Soon

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

Ilmiliekki Quartet is a band of four star-calibre Finnish jazz musicians. The group is a key unit for each of the artists, and one of their original vehicles of creation since its formation in 2002.

Here, trumpet player Verneri Pohjola, pianist Tuomo Prättälä, bassist Antti Lötjönen (of The Five Corners Quintet, Timo Lassy Band, 3TM, etc.) and drummer Olavi Louhivuori (of the late Tomasz Stanko's quintet and Oddarrang) present their first new album in 13 years. "Land Of Real Men" is a milestone which will stand strong in each of the four musicians already remarkable discography. Stylistically Ilmiliekki Quartet range from the delicate end of the sparse contemporary jazz sound to the depths of Nordic fire music, always making music which is highly personal and melodic to the bone.

The stylistic narrative of the album takes the listener on a journey much akin to the groups celebrated live shows, which are always a hit in their native Finland, but which have also taken the group to Europe, US and Australia. Ilmiliekki Quartet (which roughly translates as "Quartet Ablaze") were one of the big success stories of the "first wave" of Finnish jazz in the new millennium, and although they never really went away, the band is now back with a vengeance.


SKU 6417138659910
Barcode # 6417138659910
Brand We Jazz Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category