John Zorn - Commedia dell'arte

Back Ordered - Use Notify Me

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2016 release

A fabulous and multifaceted suite celebrating the vibrant Italian dramatic form Commedia dell’arte that began in the 16th century and flourishes to this day.

The classic archetypical characters Harlequin, Colombina, Scaramouch, Pulcinella and Pierrot are evoked in five compositional miniatures for small chamber ensembles: brass quintet, cello quartet, piano trio, vocal quartet and woodwinds.

Premiered at the Guggenheim Museum in early 2016, the music contains some of Zorn’s finest writing and is a delight from first note to last. Over 20 of New York’s greatest musicians are involved in this exciting and varied suite of miniature masterpieces.


Kyle Armbrust: Viola
Eliza Bagg: Voice
Sarah Braile: Voice
Rachel Calloway: Voice
Jay Campbell: Cello
Claire Chase: Flute
Kevin Cobb: Trumpet
Steve Gosling: Piano
Louis Hanzlik: Trumpet
Rebekah Heller: Bassoon
Mihai Marica: Cello
Christian McBride: Bass
Mike Nicolas: Cello
Michael Powell: Trombone
Eric Reed: Horn
John D. Rojak: Bass Trombone
Josh Rubin: Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Kirsten Sollek: Voice
Tyshawn Sorey: Drums
Jeff Ziegler: Cello


SKU 70239783472
Barcode # 70239783472
Brand Tzadik Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category