John Zorn - There Is No More Firmament

Back Ordered - Use Notify Me

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2017 release

There is No More Firmament is a remarkable collection of recent compositions from 2013–2016 that showcase the range, variety and continued creativity of Zorn as he enters his sixties.

Connected together with a thread of intensity, magic and madness, the music tells a twisted and complex story of a magical descent into madness. The compositions include two works for brass ensembles, a woodwind quintet, jazz piano trio, string trio and two solo pieces for clarinet and trumpet, with the outrageous trumpet solo Merlin appearing in two realizations—one by jazz master Peter Evans and another by the European classical virtuoso Marco Blaauw.

James Baker: Conductor
Marcus Rojas: Tuba
Matthew Welch: Conductor
Alex Bender: Trumpet
Marco Blaauw: Double-bell Trumpet In C
Jay Campbell: Cello
Andy Clausen: Trombone
Kevin Cobb: Trumpet
Peter Evans: Bb Trumpet
Mike Garfield: Trumpet
John Gattis: Horns
Stephen Gosling: Piano
Louis Hanzlik: Trumpet
Andy Kemp: Trumpet, Piccolo Trumpet
Tim Leopold: Trumpet
Christian McBride: Bass
Rane Moore: Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Eb Clarinet
Adrian Morejon: Bassoon
Sam Nester: Trumpet
Mike Nicolas: Cello
Tara Helen O'Connor: Flute, Piccolo, Alto Flute, Bass Flute
Chris Otto: Violin
Michael Powell: Trombone
Eric Reed: Horns
Stephanie Richards: Trumpet
John D. Rojak: Bass Trombone
Joshua Rubin: Clarinet In A
Arthur Sato: Oboe, English Horn
Tyshawn Sorey: Drums


SKU 70239783522
Barcode # 70239783522
Brand Tzadik Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category