Lee Morgan - Taru - 180g Vinyl LP

Blue Note Tone Poet Series - coming soon - August 2024

Back Ordered - Use Notify Me

Calculate Shipping

Express Postage for Vinyl LP / Oversize item - $20.00

Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000


Lee Morgan's 1968 album Taru—which wouldn't be first released until 1980 as part of the LT Series—found the trumpeter at a crossroads exploring a variety of styles. The band on this outstanding date is notable for several reasons including the elevating presence of guitarist George Benson who delivers inspired solos throughout.

The session also marked Morgan's first recorded collaboration with tenor saxophonist Bennie Maupin who would play an integral role on future Morgan albums including Caramba! and Live at the Lighthouse. Rounding out the sextet were pianist John Hicks, bassist Reggie Workman, and the ever-inspiriting drummer Billy Higgins. The six-song set covered a range of stylistic ground including modal jazz ("Avotcja One"), hard-charging post-bop ("Get Yourself Together"), beautiful balladry ("Haeschen" and "Taru, What's Wrong With You?"), gospel-tinged numbers ("Dee Lawd"), and funky boogaloos ("Durem").


This stereo Blue Note Tone Poet Series edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.



    180g Vinyl LP
    Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series
    Mastered from the Original Analog Tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
    Produced by Joe Harley
    Pressed at RTI
    Deluxe Gatefold Tip-On Jacket



SKU 602448644282
Barcode # 602448644282
Brand Blue Note Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category