Martial Solal - And His Orchestra 1956-1962

Coming Soon

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2019 release

From his beginnings, Martial Solal made it clear that he was not like other pianists, and maybe that’s why it took him a few years to get the unreserved recognition of the jazz world. His talent and excellent technique along with his advanced harmonic conception were his credentials as an innovative pianist. It was these same qualities that he took to the world of orchestral writing, where he showed that his gifts as an arranger go hand in hand with his talent as a pianist.

Listening to these recordings, the intimate character of his compositions and his mastery as an instrumentalist shine through on every note, and make obvious that Martial Solal had fun extrapolating his ideas and musical concepts from the piano to a large orchestra.

—Jordi Pujol



01. 1 Au Quatrième Top 2:55
02. Midi 1/4 3:02
03. Horloge Parlant 2:48
04. Dernière Minute 2:01
05. Blouse Bleue 2:16
06. Fantasque 2:20
07. Alhambra 2:12
08. Special Club 2:33
09. Tourmenté 3:08
10. Middle Jazz 2:41
11. Studio Fagon 2:17
12. Yes or No 2:44
13. In the Moon 2:41
14. Basie-Likes 2:42
15. 18+1 2:35
16. Mystère Solal 2:04
17. Petite Poupée 2:50
18. A Titre Indicatif 0:55



Martial Solal (p, arr, dir), Roger Guérin, Bernard Hulin, Fernand Verstraete, Fred Gerard, Robert Fassin, Christian Bellest, Jean Garrec, Maurice Thomas, Luis Fuentes (tp), Billy Byers, André Paquinet, Benny Vasseur, Charles Verstraete, Nat Peck, Bill Tamper (tb), André Fournier (Frh), Hubert Rostaing (cl, as), André 'Teddy' Hameline, Jean Aldegon, Georges Grenu, Jo Hrasko (as), Georges Grenu, Armand Migiani, Lucky Thompson, Barney Wilen, Jacques Ferrier (ts), William Boucaya, Michel Cassez (bs), Pierre Cullaz (g), Benoît Quersin, Pierre Michelot (b), Christian Garros, Kenny Clarke, Daniel Humair (d)


SKU 8427328609807
Barcode # 8427328609807
Brand Fresh Sound Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category