Miles Davis - Cookin' at the Plugged Nickel

Back Ordered - Use Notify Me

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

1987 release

Taken from the Miles Davis Quintet's legendary stay at the Plugged Nickel in Chicago, this finds the young group (comprised of Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, and Tony Williams) stretching out on "If I Were a Bell," "Stella by Starlight," "Walkin'," and "Milestones," whipping through the melodies quickly and then really tearing into the chord changes à la Ornette Coleman. Rarely again would Miles Davis be captured on record playing standards; the emphasis was shifting to continuous medleys full of original material.

Scott Yanow - AMG


SKU 88697843412
Barcode # 88697843412
Brand Columbia Legacy

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category