Steve Swell - Music For Six Musicians: Hommage A Olivier Messiaen

Back Ordered - Use Notify Me

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $12.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2018 release

Steve Swell - "Music for Six Musicians - Hommage à Messiaen" - Steve Swell (trombone), Jason Kao Hwang (Violin, viola, electronics), Tomas Ulrich (cello), Rob Brown (alto saxophone), Robert Boston (piano), Jim Pugliese (drums, precussion)


From Stephen Rush's liner notes:

« What we have here is new music. Free music. Ellington and Armstrong were right in not wanting to call it anything else but Music. Why put it in a sub-category? This belongs with the best of any new music, period. And this new music is created (with the assistance of Swell’s scores and direction) by an ensemble that knows how to both play and listen geometric and mystical constructions: some preconceived by the skillful pen of Steve Swell and some spontaneously shaped and formed. Lean in. Listen again. And swim upstream and down with the band – it’s completely worth it. »

Ann Arbor, July 2017


SKU 7320470215708
Barcode # 7320470215708
Brand silkheart

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category