Taylor Ho Bynum 9-Tette - Ambiguity Manifesto

Back Ordered - Use Notify Me

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2019 CD release.

Personnel: Taylor Ho Bynum: cornet, compositions; Jim Hobbs: alto saxophone; Bill Lowe: bass trombone, tuba; Mary Halvorson: guitar; Ken Filiano: bass; Tomas Fujiwara: drums; Ingrid Laubrock: tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone; Tomeka Reid: cello; Stomu Takeishi: electric bass.

Taylor Ho Bynum's The Ambiguity Manifesto, with its oxymoronic title, is the third album in what the cornetist-composer calls an "accidental trilogy." Following his Firehouse 12 Records releases Navigation (Possible Abstracts XII & XIII) (2013) and Enter the Plus Tet (2016), Bynum recognized a form—however unconventional—both in the composition and performing of these large ensemble works. With a 9-tette made up of members of his sextet and Plus Tet, Bynum adds Stomu Takeishi on electric bass.

Bynum cites Anthony Braxton, Cecil Taylor and Bill Dixon—all of whom he has worked with—as affecting this music, but those, or any amalgam of influences, are not as apparent as the composer's own approach. There may not be a formal narrative holding the material together, but there are linked ideas where the initial outlines are analyzed and turned inside-out as the album progresses. Bynum doesn't overload the concept, letting the group distinguish themselves through their individual and collective interpretations.

Karl Ackermann ~ AllAboutJazz


SKU 71157488722
Barcode # 711574887224
Brand Firehouse 12 Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category