Marianne Faithfull - Songs Of Innocence and Experience / 2CD set

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $12.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2022 collection, the first Marianne Faithfull compilation since 2001's An Introduction to... and the first to contain rare and unreleased material since the Island Anthology A Perfect Stranger in 1998. Containing four previously unreleased recordings including one completely unheard song. This compilation offers a definitive overview of the first 30 years of Marianne's recording career on the Decca and Island labels, and features versions of all of her notable singles including the original issue of her final Decca 7" 'Something Better' / 'Sister Morphine' featuring alternate takes unavailable since 1969: It acts both as a primer to the uninitiated and a rarities collection for those already converted. The title Songs of Innocence and Experience acknowledges the change in vocal style between Marianne's orchestral folk-pop of her 60's career with her high pure voice and her new wave punk influenced comeback at the end of the 70's with Broken English featuring her trademark fractured vocals.

    - Disc 1 -
    1 Come and Stay with Me
    2 What Have They Done to the Rain?
    3 Once I Had a Sweetheart
    4 Come My Way [Version 2]
    5 Go Away from My World
    6 This Little Bird
    7 Nuit D' ÉTÉ [Summer Nights French Version] *First Time on CD
    8 Yesterday (Live on the BBC)
    9 Cockleshells (Live on the BBC)
    10 Green Are Your Eyes
    11 Sally Free and Easy
    12 Sunny Goodge Street [Alternate Take] *Previously Unreleased Recording
    13 The First Time (Ever I Saw Your Face) [Faithfull Forever Version] *First Time on CD
    14 With You in Mind
    15 Hang on to a Dream
    16 Young Girl Blues
    17 Hier Ou Demain (From the Film Anna) *First Time on CD
    18 Is This What I Get for Loving You?
    19 Don't Make Promises
    20 Something Better (Original 7" Version) *First Time on CD
    21 Sister Morphine (Original 7" Version) *First Time on CD
    22 It's All Over Now Baby Blue
    23 Chords of Fame
    24 The Ballad of Lucy Jordan [Original Mix]
    25 What's the Hurry [Original Mix]

    - Disc 2 -
    1 Broken English [7" Remix Version]
    2 Why D'ya Do It ? [12" Version]
    3 Over Here (No Time for Justice) *First Time on CD
    4 Intrigue [7" Version] *First Time on CD
    5 Truth Bitter Truth [7" Version] *First Time on CD
    6 Falling from Grace
    7 Running for Our Lives [7" Version) *First Time on CD
    8 She's Got a Problem
    9 I'm in Love Again *Previously Unreleased
    10 Strange Weather
    11 As Tears Go By [Re-Recorded Version]
    12 A Stranger on Earth
    13 The Calm Before the Storm *Previously Unreleased
    14 When I Find My Life (Live)
    15 Brain Drain (Live) *Previously Unreleased Recording
    16 The Boulevard of Broken Dreams (Live) *Previously Unreleased Recording
    17 Times Square (Live)
    18 Bored By Dreams
    19 The Stars Line Up



SKU 602507292065
Barcode # 602507292065
Brand Universal Music

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category