Sister Rosetta Tharpe - Bring Back Those Happy Days: Greatest Hits & Selected Recordings 1938-1957

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $10.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2019 UK CD collection.

Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2018, Sister Rosetta Tharpe popularised gospel music to a new level of commercial acceptability during the 1930s and 1940s. Contains 28 tracks providing an essential overview of her career. Presented here is everything that the gospel audience would expect in religious fervour and meaningful lyrics but because of her then unique style of guitar playing she had an appeal so great that it propelled her recordings into the emergent blues and r&b market. Sister Rosetta Tharpe's guitar playing influenced the likes of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash, Chuck Berry and Little Richard. Includes "Strange Things Happening Everyday" which stormed to No 2 on the Billboard 'Race' charts, one of the first gospel recordings to achieve that feat. Other important tracks in this collection include "Down By The Riverside" which the American Library of Congress registered in 2004 for it's direct influence on early Rhythm & Blues music.

    1 Rock Me
    2 That's All
    3 This Train
    4 Bring Back Those Happy Days
    5 There Is Something Within Me
    6 Stand By Me
    7 Shout, Sister, Shout!
    8 Rock Me
    9 I Want a Tall Skinny Papa
    10 Singing in My Soul
    11 I Claim Jesus First
    12 Strange Things Happening Everyday
    13 Two Little Fishes and Five Loaves of Bread
    14 Jesus Is Here Today
    15 Jonah
    16 Didn't It Rain
    17 Stretch Out
    18 Up Above My Head, I Hear Music in the Air
    19 My Journey to the Sky
    20 Down By the Riverside
    21 Sing and Shout
    22 Nobody's Fault But Mine
    23 Don't Leave Me Here to Cry
    24 What Have I Done?
    25 Don't You Weep, O Mary, Don't You Weep
    26 I've Done Wrong
    27 Ninety-Nine and a Half Won't Do
    28 Let's Be Happy



SKU 60498831402
Barcode # 60498831402
Brand Jasmine Records

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category