Vanessa Perica Orchestra - The Eye is the First Circle

out now

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Express Post Parcel - Standard Service - $12.00
Delivery Australia Wide
Free pick-up from store - $0.00
I'll collect my order from #3, Level 4, 428 George Street, Sydney, NSW 2000

2023 release

The long awaited follow up to her 2000 album "Love is a Temporary Madness".

“I’ll give that 1,226 stars” - Jim McNeely, DownBeat Magazine Dec 2022

“…her record just me blew me away. It’s really incredible.” - Ryan Truesdell (GRAMMY®-winning Producer and Composer), DownBeat Magazine Dec 2022

Named in The Guardian’s ‘Best Australian Albums of 2020’.

“Love is a Temporary Madness signals the arrival of a major new voice in the world of large ensemble jazz. Writing for her namesake orchestra—a big band stacked with some of Australia's top musicians—Vanessa Perica makes some serious waves. If jazz bias and press didn't so clearly favor North America, it's likely that this lauded debut would've drawn even more plaudits.” - Dan Bilawsky, All About Jazz

1. The Eye is the First Circle 07:01
feat. Carl Mackey (soprano saxophone), Ben Vanderwal (drums)

2. What a Time To Be Alive 07:34
feat. Mat Jodrell (trumpet), Andrea Keller (piano)

3. Hill of Grace 06:14
feat. Jamie Oehlers (tenor saxophone)

4. Meet Me At Phoenix Street 07:29
feat. Julien Wilson (tenor saxophone)

5. Song for Cleo 06:56
feat. Tessie Overmyer (alto saxophone), Thomas Voss (trombone)

6. Still We Rise 09:47
feat. Jordan Murray (trombone)

7. Love and War 04:58
feat. Paul Williamson (trumpet)

All compositions and arrangements by Vanessa Perica


Woodwinds: Carl Mackey, Tessie Overmyer, Julien Wilson, Jamie Oehlers, Tim Stocker, Wendy Clarke (track 6 only)

Trumpets: Mat Jodrell, Daniel Beasy, Paddy McMullin, Paul Williamson

Trombones: Jordan Murray, Nick Mulder, Thomas Voss, Joe O’Callaghan

Rhythm Section: Andrea Keller (piano), Theo Carbo (guitar), Sam Anning (bass), Ben Vanderwal (drums)

Vanessa Perica - composer and conductor


Producer / Mixing Engineer: Grant Windsor

Executive Producers: Vanessa Perica, Carl Mackey

Mastered by Lachlan Carrick at Moose Mastering

Recording Engineer: Guus Hoevenaars

Assisted by Michael Tudorowski and Josh Walton

Photography: Pia Johnson
Album design: Elle Deslandes
Band photography:  Roger Mitchell

Recorded at Sing, Sing East Studios in Melbourne, Australia on 20 & 21 July 2023.

Vanessa Perica is a Yamaha artist.


SKU 9345195017930
Barcode # 9345195017930
Brand Australian Independent

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Birdland Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category